# 2017 GSA Division Primary Awards



### RIP RAPP ARCHAEOLOGICAL GEOLOGY AWARD

Archaeological Geology Division (award winner pending)

## O.E. MEINZER AWARD

*Hydrogeology Division* **Donald O. Rosenberry,** U.S. Geological Survey, Denver

### GILBERT H. CADY AWARD

Energy Geology Division Cortland F. Eble, University of Kentucky, Kentucky Geological Survey

## ISRAEL C. RUSSELL AWARD Limnogeology Division (award winner pending)

## DISTINGUISHED GEOLOGIC CAREER AWARD

E.B. BURWELL, JR. AWARD

Environmental & Engineering Geology Division Johnson, P.L., Shires, P.O., and Sneddon, T.P., 2016, Geologic and Geotechnical Factors Controlling Incipient Slope Instability at a Gravel Quarry, Livermore Basin, California: Environmental & Engineering Geoscience, v. 22, p. 141–155, doi:10.2113/gseegeosci.22.2.141.

#### **OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS AWARD**

Geoinformatics Division Kerstin Lehnert, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University

#### GEORGE P. WOOLLARD AWARD

Geophysics Division Susan Beck, University of Arizona

### BIGGS AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN EARTH SCIENCE TEACHING

*Geoscience Education Division* Laura Lukes, George Mason University

#### MARY C. RABBITT HISTORY OF GEOLOGY AWARD

History and Philosophy of Geology Division A.M. Celâl Şengör, Istanbul Technical University Minerology, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology Division Jon P. Davidson, Durham University (deceased)

#### G.K. GILBERT AWARD

Planetary Geology Division (award winner pending)

## KIRK BRYAN AWARD FOR RESEARCH EXCELLENCE

*Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology Division* Leslie D. McFadden, University of New Mexico

#### LAURENCE L. SLOSS AWARD

Sedimentary Geology Division Isabel P. Montañez, University of California at Davis

### CAREER CONTRIBUTION AWARD

Structural Geology and Tectonics Division (award winner pending)